Talking with Victor

It’s 1:30AM and I’m up talking (or IM’ing, the new talk) with Victor, a former coworker of mine from McAfee who now works in the mobile anti-virus space (e.g., security software for cellular phones and similar devices).  His advice to me (paraphrased):
Whatever you wish to do in the future needs to be operator friendly.  Network operators will control the content and the ecosystem–first they will merge with media companies, and then with banking companies.  And if you don’t play by their rules then you’re out.
I don’t know if I believe him or not.  Or, rather, how much I believe him.  But Victor’s one of the smartest guys I know and I’m always interested in what he has to say ever since he came rushing to me desk one day in the early 1990s to show me a program running on his UNIX workstation called a "web browser" which he claimed was going to be the new way "everything" was delivered on the computer.  I looked at him and told him he was crazy since it was too difficult and cost-prohibitive for average folks to spend several hundred dollars buying a TCP/IP stack for their computer and then spend hours getting it working properly with their Novell Netware or dial-up connections, just so they could run a web browser.  I guess I was wrong about that.
 
Tags:  McAfee
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

